ReThink Justice Committees

Coalition’s advocacy activities are done through its committees. At the coalition’s monthly meetings each committee reports on its actions and coordinates with coalition participants. [more]

Each committee maintains its own email list separate from the coalition listserv. (To be added to the coalition listserv click here.) To get involved with the work of a Rethink committee, contact one of the co-chairs listed below.

Pathways To Reentry (PTR) Committee

Description: The Pathways to Reentry Committee (PTR Committee) purpose is to improve reentry success and promote public safety in the District of Columbia. The PTR Committee advocates for legislation, engages the community, and builds and strengthens relationships with reentry service providers, to create a more informed and responsive community for men and women who have been incarcerated at the DC’s Department of Corrections, the Federal Bureau of Prisons, or halfway houses.


  • Myra Woods (
  • Courtney Stewart (

New Vision: Alternatives to Incarceration Committee

Description: This committee seeks to reimagine the District’s use of incarceration where incarceration is used as a last resort and the criminal legal system emphasizes rehabilitation and public well-being. The committee will promote crime prevention programs, policies which offer alternatives to incarceration, and identify best program and rehabilitation practices to be implemented inside the jail and in the community.


  • Jon Cooper (
  • Jamie Argento Rodriguez (

Government Affairs Committee

Description: The Government Affairs Committee helps ReThink Justice leaders in their advocacy to the District of Columbia and federal governments. The committee arranges for government leaders to speak at ReThink meetings. Current committee projects include identifying allied DC justice reform organizations and developing ReThink Justice advocacy positions on policing in DC.


  • John Zotolli (
  • John Stanard (

Outside the Box Committee

Description: The Outside the Box committee explores criminal justice reform issues that may arise in D.C. (or other jurisdictions) that are not currently within the purview of any other standing ReThink Justice DC committees. Upon review, this committee may bring such issues to the coalition for possible adoption into another committee, as appropriate.


  • Charlie Sullivan (
  • Sam Kaplan (